Enrolment advice for students studying Psychology

How do I know which units to select for my Psychology double major?

The Psychology double major requires the completion of 13 Psychology units. This is:

  • two level 1 units,
  • three level 2 units, and
  • eight level 3 units

The requirements of the major are outlined on the UWA Handbooks page.

It is important that all students are aware of the unit availabilities in Psychology. While core units are taught every year, option units are taught in alternating years. Each option unit has at level 2 and a level 3 version, which are incompatible with each other. For example, Cognitive Neuroscience can be taken as PSYC2217 or PSYC3317, but not both.

We encourage you not to enrol in level 2 units in your first year, as you will not have enough option units to choose from in your third year. For example, if you take PSYC2209 in Semester 2 of your first year, you will not be able to take PSYC3309 in your third year. As a result, you will not have enough level 3 options available in your third year to complete the major, which may require you to extend your degree.

If at any point you are unsure about which units to select, or would like a student adviser to check your enrolment, please submit an enrolment check request to the Science Student Office via "Email Us". A student adviser will personally check your enrolment and let you know if there are any necessary changes to make.

See also: Checking your science enrolment is correct

Was this answer helpful?
Your rating has been submitted; please tell us how we can make this answer more useful.