Broadening units explained

What are broadening units?

All students taking an undergraduate bachelors degree at UWA must complete at least four (24 points) broadening units.

Broadening units are designed to ensure graduates have a well-rounded education across a broad range of areas to meet the needs of employers and professional organisations within a global workforce.

Broadening units are units of study outside your degree-specific major sequence (excluding also Foundational Units and Bridging Units). Previously, broadening units had Category A status or Category B status, and were related to ‘Knowledge Areas’, but these categories and requirements no longer apply.

If you need further advice on choosing broadening units contact a student adviser from your assigned Student Advising Office displayed on your studentConnect.

Was this answer helpful?